Friday, April 22, 2011



Lankayam Shankari devi, Kamakshi Kanchika pure /Pradyumne Shrinkhala devi, Chamunda Krouncha pattane // Alampure Jogulamba,Sri shaile Bhramarambika /Kolha pure Maha lakshmi, Mahurye Ekaveerika //Ujjainyam Maha kali, Peethikayam Puruhutika /Odhyane Girija devi, Manikya Daksha vatike //Hari kshetre Kama rupi, Prayage Madhaveshwari /Jwalayam Vaishnavi devi, Gaya Mangalya gourika //Varanasyam Vishalakshi, Kashmire tu Saraswati 
Ashtadasha Shakti peethani, Yoginamapi durlabham //Sayamkale pathennityam, Sarva shatri vinashanam /Sarva roga haram divyam, Sarva sampatkaram shubham

This is the sloka about SHAKTI PEETHAS by Jagadguru Sri. Adi Shankaracharya. Though some people say there are 51 shakti peethas, but as per the above sloka there are only 18 shakti peethas  and they are famous by ASHTA DASA SHAKTI PEETHAS.
It is not easy to visit even these 18 peethas. My intention is to help the people through this blog who wants to visit these shakti peethas.
Out of these 18 one can visit only 15 shakti peethas as 3 are destroyed by the invaders.

The background of the story of the Shakti peethas is like this: There was a great king called Daksha Prajapati who was son of Lord Brahma. He had 27 daughters and Sati devi is one among them. Sati devi got married to Lord Shiva. When Dashka entered the arena of a yaga performed by Agni, every one except Lord Shiva stood up as a mark of respect. Daksha felt insulted by Lord Shiva's behaviour. Later when Daksha conducted a yaga him self , he did not invite his daughter and his son in law.As there was no invitation from her parents for yaga Sati felt bad. Even then she wanted to attend the yaga against the wish of Lord Shiva.When Sati, attended the yaga no body has cared for her and she felt insulted by the actions of her sisters and parents. Then when her father started abusing her husband she could not control her feelings and sacrified herself at the place of yagna by creating agni from earth with her right thumb of her foot. Knowing this Lord Shiva got angry and removed one bunch of Jhatha from his head and hit it on the earth. From that Lord Veerabhadra has born and rushed to yaga spot as dircted by Lord Siva and killed Daksha by cutting his head. (later Daksha was given life by fixing a goat head) Then Shiva went to the yaga spot and taken the body of sati from the fire and started dancing with it.

Lord Shiva with the body of Sati
The world was terrorized from his Tandava Nritya and requested Lord Vishnu to stop this Nritya. Knowingly well that Siva would not stop the Nritya unless the body of Sati is removed from his hands, Vishnu used his Sudarshan chakra and completely cut the Sati's body in to pieces. These body parts have fallen at various places in India and Srilanka and Where ever these parts have fallen the places are called Shaktipeethas. There are 18 such places and they are called Ashta ( 8) Dasa (10 ) Shaktipeethas.The list of body parts fallen at these 18 places are given in this blog. If you observe them carefully some of the parts are not found in that list and people say that the remaining parts have fallen at different  places and as such the shakti peethas are 51.But this blog is designed taking into consideration of above Sri Shankaracharyas shloka only.

 The details of all the 18 Shaktipeethas are given below  as per the order of the above shloka. For more details about each shaktipeetha visit the respective blogs.

In the shaktipeethas, body parts only to be  worshipped but in due course idols/ statues of Devi are installed. Even today in Gaya and Prayaga we find no idols.
                                                              1.Lankayam Shankari devi

                                                         3) Pradyumne Shrinkhala Devi     

                                                        4)Chamunda Krouncha pattane   

                                           5) Alampure Jogulamba                                                



Some of the other blogs of the author.

Dattatreya the Guru of all Gurus

Famous Devi Temples

hit counter dreamweaver


  1. uuuuu righttttt the shrinkala devi temple is sin kolkata.i visited the in hugli dietrictt.the part of goddess u can see is overed with red clotha nd it will be opened once in a year that is durga ashtami the eight day of devinavratri festival.nobody knows about it,in kolkata.

  2. u can get there by train alsooo

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

  4. Thanks for your valuable information,,,,,,,,,,

    Asta Dasa Shakti Peethas area unit the eighteen Shaktipeeth temples or outstanding and most auspicious temples dedicated to deity Shakti. it's believed that these temples area unit most ancient in Hinduism and thought of because the heavenly abodes of the deity.List of Asta Dasa Shakti Peeth.

  5. .....the head of DEVI SATI is said to be fallen in Muktinath shaktipeeth in Nepal....

  6. One of the well written posts i have read recently about Shakti Peetas. Pica are awesome. Thanks for sharing. See more information about How To Reach the places.

  7. May i know which temples have been destroyed?

  8. I know that the Saraswathi Temple in Kashmir is one of the temples that has been destroyed. Other two I am not sure. Also, if it can be mentioned as to which part fell in which place, it will be very good.